Xhosatu Congress: Lossi uncontested re-election as president, Bheki Ntshalintshali in community

Zingiswa Losi at the Cosatu Election Assembly at the Gallagher Convention Center.

Gallo Photographs/Daily Mavericks/Felix Deranga Mandela

  • Zingiswa Losi was re-elected uncontested as Cosatu president, while Bheki Ntshalintshali misplaced out to his deputy as affiliates confirmed their dissatisfaction with him.
  • Ntshalintshali has been in demand of the federation’s cabin due to the fact Zwelinzima Vavi was sacked in 2015.
  • The write-up of Deputy General Secretary was the only controversial one particular all through the XIV Cosatu Electoral Congress.

Bheki Ntshalintshali, who has been at the helm of the Cosatu cabin considering the fact that 2015 as the secretariat’s office, was pressured to hand over the reins to his deputy on Thursday.

Even with remaining identified as Cosatu’s “walking encyclopedia” by Zingiswa Losi due to his a long time in the union, Ntshalintshali did not even get any nominations from Cosatu’s 16 affiliate marketers. Cosatu has held an electoral assembly in the earlier number of times.

However, assist for his deputy Solly Phetoe was mind-boggling, meaning Ntshalintshali was left out in the cold.

Affiliate leaders explained Ntshalintshali’s “capacity obstacle” as a important component in their selection.

While Ntshalintshali has not spoken publicly about his potential options, he is understood to be not happy with being left out and rejected the selection of redeployment to the governing administration, an olive department generally prolonged to leaders who have withdrawn from the federation.

Just after Zwelinzima Vavi was sacked, Ntshalintshali was appointed secretary-common of Cosatu in 2015 and retained the placement at the organization’s 2018 basic assembly.

Midrand, South Africa

See also  Community sector unions just take five months to think about 6.5% pay back proposal - Irish Times

Bheki Ntsalintshali and Zingiswa Losi at the Cosatu election assembly.

Some Cosatu leaders, who played a important role in leadership negotiations, stated Ntshalintshali’s Achilles heel was that most associates noticed his tenure as a stopgap to manage continuity right after Vavi’s departure. They never ever viewed as him a entire-time deployer.

Losey, criticized by some in the federation for her closeness to ANC president Cyril Ramaphosa, was given a 2nd term right after her nomination for the identical publish was uncontested.

Regardless of becoming re-elected, some disgruntled users questioned Losi’s credentials following some confusion emerged above which union she belonged to.

study | ‘Hamba, Gwede’: Mantas booed at Cosatu convention

Satawu, who did not get the right to vote for not having to pay federal subsidies, fell out of favor, saying the Loseys were being theirs, a move that set her bid for a 2nd expression in jeopardy.

This was corrected right after the highly regarded union Popcru certified her membership.

Mike Shingange was also elected unopposed as Losi’s initial deputy.

Duncan Luvuno was introduced as Next Vice President, when Freda Oosthuizen was picked as Treasurer.

The only controversial posture is that of Underneath-Secretary-Basic, Gerald Thwala succeeding Moses Lekota. Thwala emerged victorious with 1187 votes to Lekota’s 599 votes.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.