Mike Vaccaro of The Post was named sports journalist of the year in New York

The main sports columnist of the Post, Mike Vaccaro, was named sports journalist of the year in New York for the third time, as announced by the National Sports Media Association.

Vaccaro, who has worked at the Post since 2002, previously won the award in 2013 and 2014. He graduated in 1989 from the University of St. Bonaventure and lives in Hillsdale, N.J.

Vaccaro not only writes about local and national sports, but also writes a weekly Sunday column called “Open Mike.” He is the author of three books: “Emperors and idiots” (on the rivalry between the Yankees and the Red Sox), “1941 – The best year in Sports” and “The First Fall Classic” (chronicle of the 1912 World Series between the Red Sox and the Giants).

Vaccaro is the sixth person to win the award three or more times, joining Dick Young, George Vecsey, Dave Anderson, Richard Sandomir and the current Post columnist Phil Mushnick.

The NSMA also announced that Young, the legendary legend of New York sports journalism who culminated a 45-year career writing columns for The Post from 1982-87, was voted in his Hall of Fame.

Ian Eagle, the lifelong voice of the Brooklyn Nets, as well as the CBS voice of professional football and college basketball, was named New York Sportscaster of the Year.

The awards will be presented at the annual Association awards weekend in June in Winston-Salem, North Carolina.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *