Home Sports Kyle Busch survives collision in the second round to achieve the eighth...

Kyle Busch survives collision in the second round to achieve the eighth Bristol win – NASCAR

Kyle Busch survived a second lap accident to take his eighth NASCAR Cup series series in Bristol.

The Joe Gibbs Toyota driver led home brother Kurt Busch and made the call to stay outside while his closest challengers pitted for new tires during a warning period in the last 20 laps.

Busch, who has more victories at Bristol than any other active driver, was overtaken by a second-round collision caused by William Byron breaking loose in the front row and collecting Aric Almirola. Busch and Ricky Stenhouse Jr. came after that.

Despite being in the pile, Busch was back in the top 10 in the 93rd lap of the 500-lap race, but only in the 381 did he take charge of the race for the first time.

His slow pace in front, however, was weak and within 30 laps he was passed by both Clint Bowyer and Joey Logano.

A look back in the 411 round, caused by Kyle Larson, returned the lead to Busch, who was the first to be promoted after leader Denny Hamlin had driven the pit road during the yellow flag period.

Again, Busch was unable to hold onto the lead for a longer period, after restarting the Penske pair Brad Keselowski and Logano 10 laps.

A final warning period in round 479 proved crucial, with Logano, Keselowski as well as Ryan Blaney's third Penske entry who all opted for tires while Busch continued to leave the track. The call turned out to be vital, because Busch was able to maintain the lead until the finish of the race.

Runner-up Kurt Busch came close to beating his younger brother, but a brush with the wall with four rounds to go ended all hope that he would win.

Phase 2 winner Logano finished third and made good use of his new tires at the end of the race but didn't have time to take on a new challenge for the win.

Blaney, who set the all-time track record in the second qualifying session, led a race high of 158 laps, finished fourth. He remains the driver with the most laps without winning this season.

Hamlin came back from his penalty and scored his fifth top-five finish of the year.

Paul Menard was in sixth place, one place ahead of Clint Bowyer, who had a fast car, but was bothered by handling problems most of the day and provided the penultimate warning of the day after his front right tire fell.

Daniel Suarez, Ryan Newman and Jimmie Johnson complete the top 10.

Pole-keeper Chase Elliott just missed a top 10 finish in 11th place, Matt DiBenedetto finished as a strong 12th.

Kevin Harvick, who had to start in the back and take an early drive-through penalty after his car was not inspected three times before the race, became 13th.

Ty Dillon, who won a surprising Phase 1 victory after a photo finish with Bowyer, finished 15th.

Keselowski, who was the leader for much of the race and led 40 laps, was classed 18th and a lap eliminated after receiving a late-race penalty for ignoring the starting instructions.

Race result

Pos Driver Team Car Laps
1 Kyle Busch Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota 500
2 Kurt Busch Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet 500
3 Joey Logano Team Penske ford 500
4 Ryan Blaney Team Penske ford 500
5 Denny Hamlin Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota 500
6 Paul Menard Wood Brothers Racing ford 500
7 Clint Bowyer Stewart-Haas Racing ford 500
8 Daniel Suarez Stewart-Haas Racing ford 500
9 Ryan Newman Roush Fenway Racing ford 500
10 Jimmie Johnson Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet 500
11 Chase Elliott Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet 500
12 Matt DiBenedetto Leavine Family Racing Toyota 500
13 Kevin Harvick Stewart-Haas Racing ford 500
14 Austin Dillon Richard Childress Racing Chevrolet 500
15 Ty Dillon Germain Racing Chevrolet 500
16 William Byron Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet 500
17 Martin Truex Jr. Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota 499
18 Brad Keselowski Team Penske ford 499
19 Kyle Larson Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet 499
20 Darrell Wallace Jr. Richard Petty Motorsports Chevrolet 499
21 David Ragan Front Row Motorsports ford 498
22 Chris Buescher JTG Daugherty Racing Chevrolet 498
23 Alex Bowman Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet 497
24 Erik Jones Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota 497
25 Ryan Preece JTG Daugherty Racing Chevrolet 496
26 Landon Cassill StarCom Racing Chevrolet 495
27 Matt Tifft Front Row Motorsports ford 494
28 Michael McDowell Front Row Motorsports ford 493
29 Ross Chastain Premium Motorsports Chevrolet 491
30 Daniel Hemric Richard Childress Racing Chevrolet 490
31 Bayley Currey Rick Ware Racing Chevrolet 488
32 Quin Houff Spire Motorsports Chevrolet 476
33 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. Roush Fenway Racing ford 395
34 Corey LaJoie Go FAS Racing ford 308
35 Timmy Hill MBM Motorsports Toyota 239
36 Gray Gaulding Petty Ware Racing ford 142
37 Aric Almirola Stewart-Haas Racing ford 3



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Must Read

How Mac Miller spoke through the piano

Picture credits: Stefan Kohli"You speak with your hands and how you touch the keys." -Mac MillerMac Miller was a vessel for the...

Russia criticizes extended US sanctions against Iran | TIME ONLINE

Just as China already has Russia Criticized the announcement by the US government to extend sanctions on oil imports from Iran. The Russian Foreign...

Is the design by Oshae Brissett one of the most important in basketball?

Syracuse Orange men's men's basketball team will bring much uncertainty in 2019/20, and that could ultimately be explained by whether Oshae Brissett...