Lynyrd Skynyrd Live at Knebworth ’76: a legendary concert finally reissued!

Lynyrd Skynyrd Live at Knebworth '76: a legendary concert finally reissued!

Eagle Vision is reissuing on DVD one of Lynyrd Skynyrd’s rare European concerts. Between 1971 and 1976, then at the height of its art, this excellent group of American rock blues composed about thirty classics which built the legend. Until this tragic plane crash in 1977 which claimed the lives of singer Ronnie Van Zant, guitarist Steve Gaines and his sister, backing singer Cassie Gaines. Return on one of the best live of the group.

In the mid-70’s, Lynyrd Skynyrd was at his peak. Gold records, marathon tours, the Jacksonville sextet in Florida (United States) was at that time the quintessential southern rock formation, fusing the saturated power of blues-rock with a zest of rock’n’roll country and hard rock. In the mid-70’s, then stronger in popularity, the American septet opted for a more muscular and rougher blues-rock sound which would give birth to classic rock standards such as “Sweet Home Alabama”, “Simple Man”, ” What’s Your Name “,” That Smell, “” Gimme Three Steps “and” Free Bird “. Scenic sets and sober light show, obviously the group does not deploy great means when it occurs in stadiums in the first part of the Rolling Stones, in front of huge crowds. For them, music comes to the fore. In Europe, fans discover the group at festivals as evidenced by this concert given in Knebworth in the United Kingdom in 1976 in front of 150,000 spectators. Reinforced concrete riffs, leaded rhythm and hardened steel vocals, this DVD is full of melodic tracks, a clever mix of powerful hard rock and thick blues. The songs delivered tonight are a great rock ‘n’ roll moment. Long hair and his famous black stetson Ronnie Van Zant (vocals) remains unperturbed behind his microphone stand, urging the crowd with his sulphurous lyrics (which praise the violence, alcohol and drugs) while the other mainstay of the show, Allen Collins all in red, bent in half on his Gibson Explorer, sways as if his life depended on it. Behind, Leon Wikelson (bass), Billy Powell (piano), Artimus Pyle (drums) and Gary Rossington (Gibson lespaul 59 ‘Steve Gaines (stratocaster) concrete a united rhythm, particularly muscular. The feminine touch to soften the rebellious image of the The Honkettes’ backing vocalists Cassie Gaines, JoJo Billingsley and Leslie Hawkins are provided by and backing vocals from the past “Gimme Three Steps”, “Free Bird” “I Aint the One” alongside all-new hot “Searching” and “Workin ‘For The MCA, with the steamroller that is“ Saturday Night Special ”leading the way, not to mention the covers of Jimmi Rodgers“ T For Texas ”and JJ Cale“ Call Me The Breeze ”. Whiskey Rock-A-Roller “,” Travelin ‘Man “or the hit” Sweet Home Alabama “are the highlights of this recording. Another interesting detail, most of the tracks open alternately in close-up on each of the musicians with interesting shots of the three guitarists coming together took turns for the solo parts. We regret the absence of bonus tracks and we would have appreciated a documentary or an itw from the surviving members on the incredible rise of this fabulous stage group born in the early 70’s. Note the release of this document in CD / DVD format and that the Blu-ray edition also includes the documentary “If I Leave Here Tomorrow: A Film About Lynyrd Skynyrd” retracing the course and history of the group. Eleven tracks remixed, nearly an hour and ten of images captured in an impeccable manner and served by impressive sound at high volume. This document takes you back to the warm and festive atmosphere of this concert as if you were there.

See also  Concerts of the Philharmonie Écho et Narcisse Médiathèque José Cabanis Toulouse Friday February 5, 2021

Jean-Christophe Mary

  1. Workin’ For The MCA
  2. I Ain’t The One
  3. Saturday Night Special
  4. Searching
  5. Whiskey Rock-A-Roller
  6. Travelin’ Man
  7. Gimme Three Steps
  8. Call Me The Breeze
  9. T For Texas
  10. Sweet Home Alabama
  11. Free Bird
“Maison tanière”, the summer poetry of Pauline Delabroy-Allard
The Antecedents, Anna Gaïotti and the Black Virgin summon strange geishas to the Glass Menagerie

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.