Jagdeep Dhankhar is the new VP, beats Margaret Alva: 10 details

Jagdeep Dhankhar is a Jat born in 1951 to a peasant family in a tiny village in Rajasthan.

New Delhi:
Jagdeep Dhankhar, former Bengal Governor, was elected as the Vice President on Saturday. He defeated opposition Margaret Alva as the winner.

In this article are the gist of the large tale:

  1. The NDA prospect, led by the BJP, won 528 votes to Ms Alva’s 182 in a poll taken previously right now. The Vice President is also the ex officio Chairman of the Rajya Sabha.

  2. Mr. Dhankhar been given a 74.36% stake. He has the greatest winning proportion in the final 6 vice presidential elections held due to the fact 1997.

  3. Election officials for the vice presidential election mentioned 725 of the 780 voters cast their ballots, but 15 votes were being identified to be invalid. The turnout was 92.94 for every cent, he said, introducing that a prospect necessary 356 votes to get elected.

  4. A overall of 36 MPs in Trinamool Congress, including 23 from the Lok Sabha, have abstained. Having said that, two of its MPs have presently voted. As quite a few as 55 lawmakers did not vote in Saturday’s 10 a.m.-5 p.m. vice presidential election.

  5. Margaret Alva congratulates Mr. Dhankhar on his victory. She also thanked the leaders of the opposition and MPs from all functions who voted for her in this election. “This election is around. The fight to shield our constitution, fortify our democracy and restore the dignity of our parliament will keep on,” she tweeted.

  6. Prime Minister Narendra Modi, along with BJP main JP Nadda, went to congratulate Mr Dhankhar on on his election as the Vice President.

  7. Mr Dhankhar is supported by numerous other non-NDA parties – Biju Janata Dal in Naveen Patnaik, YSR Congress in Jaganmohan Reddy, Bahujan Samaj Bash in Mayawati, Telugu Desam Get together in Chandrababu Naidu, Jharkhand Mukti Morcha, Akali Dal and Eknath in Shiv Shinde faction Senna.

  8. Nine MPs from Telangana Rashtra Samithi, Aam Aadmi Occasion and Shiv Sena’s Uddhav Thackeray faction supported Ms Alva.

  9. Mr Dhankhar will be the next vice president of Rajasthan following Bhairon Singh Shekhawat who held the place from 2002 to 2007.

  10. Joyous scenes were being also reported in Jhunjhunu, Rajasthan, the hometown of Mr Dhankhar. The celebration was also held at the BJP state headquarters in Jaipur, in which persons danced to the conquer of the dhols and handed out sweets.

See also  Fatal horse accident in Lennik

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.